Resetting LC223 compatible ink cartridges

wilko

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pixma
I'm new to Brother printers, having purchased a couple of DCP-J4120DW printers on Ebay.

I've used Canon printers for several years and have been used to refilling carts and re-setting them.

I've been using refillable cartridges in the Brother printers (no sponges, like Canon)

However, I still like the idea of refilling and re-setting ink cartridges but am not willing to splash out
astronomical sums on OEM carts, and then have to fiddle about remoing outer casings etc.

So I purchased an LC223 chip resetter and a set of compatible inks.

I have only used the black cartridge so far but I have been able to reset it three times. It's a little bit more fiddly to reset the cart but eventually it resets.

These compatible carts are easier to refill than the OEM ones as you don't have to remove the outer casing.

I'm going to try the colour carts next and if they reset like the black one, then I'll use them instead of the refillable ones.

I'm not suggesting that this is an option for everyone but merely that it has worked for me with one ink cartridge.

I will report back on my experience with the colour carts

MP640

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MG6150
I use the Broluer (google: broluer) tool to refill original Brother cartridges. I have LC123 which have similar housing than LC223 but older chips.
The Broluer creates underpressure in the cartridge which makes it suck in the refill ink. No need to dismantle.

wilko

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pixma
I use the Broluer (google: broluer) tool to refill original Brother cartridges. I have LC123 which have similar housing than LC223 but older chips.
The Broluer creates underpressure in the cartridge which makes it suck in the refill ink. No need to dismantle.

Yes, it's a great tool but it little bit expensive. Still a lot cheaper than purchasing OEM carts

The Hat

Printer VIP