need a new printer with very good colour reproduction

anwenk

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi,
My canon ip3000 has just broken- I have concluded- something to do with the magenta print head- have cleanded it numerous times on both cycles and the images are all coming out a saturated green hue. I figure its probably cheaper to buy a new one than get it fixed....

I am an artist and work from my photographs so I need a printer that gives me as close to the screen colours as possible- I know its impossible to get exact as the screen is like a transperancy- but I just dont want to stuff around with colour balance all the time. I am considering the ip8500 - altho a couple of reviews have said it has a pinkish hue to its prints... has any one experienced this? Any suggestions on a really good colour printer that will be economic on ink as I probably print about 25 A4 colour prints on the highest setting every week.
Thanks

Osage

Printer Guru
Reaction score
To Anwenk,

First, if you want exact color reproduction, you need to read up on printer profiles on these forums which you can purchase for a fairly low cost. But basically these depend on the printer, the ink you use, and the photopaper.---change any variables and the color shifts.--and various software gives you better color control than just relying on Canon printer software.---but many on these forums are far more expert in this area so I will let them advise you on what they use.

But if you have been happy with the ip3000, do consider either unclogging the printhead you have or ordering a new one---as the ip3000 does have a fairly inexpensive printhead.---which by the way interchanges with quite a few earlier generation Canon printers.