Epson C86 Magenta jet just won't print

warmnsunny

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Newbie here... my Epson C86 quit printing the magenta colour recently. I bought a new cartridge but it still isn't printing. I've run the nozzle check, cleaning etc but don't know how to do anything more serious.
Suggestions please!

InkMon

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
It's possible that the print head has totally emptied. Check the SCC software for your printer type you may be able to run cleans on the magenta only. There are a number of threads explaining unclogging Epsons including cleaning cartridges. and applying a solvent soaked tissue to the print head in the central position. You could try loading an image change the image to a red grey scale (Colour adjustment) and print at photo quality. This really exercises the nozzles and can get ink flowing again.

jflan

Printing Ninja
Reaction score
warmnsunny said:
Newbie here... my Epson C86 quit printing the magenta colour recently. I bought a new cartridge but it still isn't printing. I've run the nozzle check, cleaning etc but don't know how to do anything more serious.
Suggestions please!
Welcome to Nifty-Stuff :)

You could try a cleaning cartridge for your C86 Magenta. They've worked for me.
Here's a vendor in the States that has them by G&G...you may be able to find them elsewhere:
http://www.printpal.com/epson_stylus_c86.html
Instructions are included.

I like to use a "prime page" of the appropriate color to exercise the problem head with the cleaning cartridge installed:
http://www.ink-refills-ink.com/InfoPages/1primepage.htm

Others will have different ideas.

Never leave an inkjet cartridge uninstalled from the printhead for longer than the few seconds it takes to replace it....

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score