canon mx860, ocp ink, and what paper?

kodycoyote

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I'm new to this stuff and could read for the rest of my life on what paper to use, but I'd rather have other's opinions. I just want to have nice photos that look great on the level of 4x6, and occasionally 8x11. I figured I would have some profile done on this combination but don''t want to have to get overly involved. Also, what photo software would you recommend? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

irvweiner

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
I assume you are in the US. If so, start with the Costco Kirkland Pro Glossy paper. It is quite well received and inexpensive: 4x6 300 sht ~$13 8.5x11 150 sht ~$18. If you are not a member, as a friend. No friends? Go to store and ask a customer to but it for you!

It's an excellent paper for family pix and more. Use glossy paper (or nearest equiv) for your media and profile selection for starters, will not far off.

good luck irv weiner

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
I believe you can purchase Costco items as a non-member for a markup of 5% or so. By law, a non-member must be able to access and use their pharmacy as well.

From the Costco website:

"Why was I charged a Non-Member Surcharge at checkout?

Costco members need to enter their membership number during the registration process in the My Account section. Non-members will be charged a 5% surcharge over the member's posted product prices (except for prescription drugs)."

l_d_allan

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
Didn't know that about a "5% non-member surcharge". I've had a Sam's Club membership for many years, but had the impression that non-members simply couldn't buy anything, but had to be members first. I was aware that there were certain days when non-members could make purchases ... with surcharge .... but those didn't happen often.