Canon MP 780 Won't Print Black

Bongo44

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello all;

I'm a newbie to this forum and am impressed with all the good info. Here's my MP780 story. I've had the printer for about 2.5 yrs & about 8 months ago the printhead went out. Well, I got suckered by Cannon & upgraded with a coupon to the MP830. Anyway, the 780 went into storage for about 2 months before I got stationed overseas & took it with me. I purchased a new printhead & cartridges & everything worked great until it was time to replace the BCI3-EBK cartridge. Then, yup you guessed it, it quit printing black. I performed the purge tube cleaning procedure trigger 37 described--no luck. I then soaked the printhead in windex overnight & thoroughly cleaned that. Still no luck. I even tried a new cartridge but to no avail. I'm not getting any other errors except that the top part of the nozzle check pattern refuses to print, and of course I can't print black. Everything else appears to be OK. Is it time to buy yet another print head?

I'm open to any suggestions folks. Thanks for the assistance.

talstails

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I have the same problem too! My black won't print. :( Please help me too. Thanks.

ocular

Printer Guru
Reaction score
You need to work out if this is a printhead blockage or if if the purge mechanism is blocked.

My experience of this problem is gained from IP3000 and MP730 Canon Printers so bare with me - I don't know the exact setup of the MP830. If the printer has had lots of use and then is left for some time, black pigment ink can cause blockages either in the printhead or the purge tubing.

Make up a 1/2 a cup of windex/water 50 /50 solution

Take out the print out and soak it in a few mm of windex /water solution.