Newbie to "quality" photo paper

Flummi

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson ET-8550, ET-7750
As an amateur photographer, I always enjoyed putting my photos on paper. Starting with my Epson Stylus Photo 700 back in the nineties, playing with non OEM inks and CIS, making printer profiles first with Datacolor Spyder Print, now with XRite Color Munki Photo.
Most of the (many) printers I owned died due to excessive printing pause times. That is also the main reason why I avoided pigment printers so far (it is only pigment black of my Epson 7750 that gets clogged...). Starting with my first Ecotank, I didn't feel the need of any further ink experiments - I stick to OEM inks.

But what I have neglected so far was the photo paper. For a long time I was happy with the (thicker) glossy paper of LabelOcean brand. The prints were - in my eyes - "photo quality". When directly pinned to the wall, they curled after some time and the colors disappeared some months later. I thought that this was normal to home printed photos. :rolleyes:

Starting with my new ET-8550 and an increased interest in black-and-white prints, I dived into the subject of "quality" photo papers.
I bought sample print books and paper sample packs of several manufacturers.

Up to now I ended up with the following (mid-priced) papers (of different sizes):
- Sihl glossy 280grs
- Fotospeed PF Lustre
- Fotospeed Smooth Pearl
- Fotospeed Metallic Gloss
- Fotospeed Matt Proofing
- Photolux Prof. Matte Paper
- PPD satin.

Well, that gave one and another "Wow!-Effect". :)
Haptics, look and feel of the surface - they give a completely new perspective on photo quality.
Especially matte papers (I never used before for photo prints) gave some photos an appropriate look.

Up to now I refrained from buying premium papers like Hahnemühles Photo Rag Baryta. Do you think it would be worth trying them, considering a 6-ink dye printer?