Still Using HP 895Cse to avoid ink ripoff...need advice

danii

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I have a Dell studio Core 2 quad computer that will not drive my HP 895Cse. I have this HP printer hooked up to an old Compaq (under my desk) that will drive it. I burn anything that needs to be printed from the Dell on CD-R and put it into the Compaq to print.

The 895 is a fantastic printer that takes HP color-23 and black-45 cartridges, and has spectacular print quality. The 23 and 45 have a lot of ink in them compared to the new models.

The problem is that I am an amateur photographer that prints a great many photos. I can get 120-8" x 10" prints out one HP 23/45 ink combo pack, which is approx 64 cents an 8 x 10 print.

The newer models are nowhere close to this as far as I know.

Can anyone recommend a printer that can give me the quality of the HP 895 that will give me a comparative number of prints per cartridge pack.
without getting seriously ripped off

HP is discontinuing the 45 cartridge perpetuating the great ink ripoff. I know a lot of people that have bought 712's and 895's from Ebay in order to get value per print. HP is obviously aware that many people still use these great workhorses and are now making sure we can no longer get ink for them.

I do not want an all in one, just a printer

Please help

Responses greatly appreciated

Danii

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MP990
Hi danii,

Which Operating Systems do you use on the Dell and Compaq computers ? And do you use USB or Parallel cable to connect the printer to the Compaq ?