Owning two printers, MP640 and MG5250, best way of filling cartridges?

digitalface

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi,

I own a Canon MP640 printer and my brother owns an MG5250. I'm a bit of a noob at this refilling business but have done my research (massive thanks to this site!) and have discovered the differences with cartridges and cartridge resetting etc.

If you could just confirm a few things for me:

1.) The MP640 uses CLI-521 / PGI-520 cartridges, the MG5250 uses newer opaque CLI-526 / PGI-525 ones

2.) The MP640 will accept CLI-521 and newer CLI-526 cartridges, the MG5250 will only accept the new CLI-526's

I plan on buying a refill kit and resetter in the hope of being able to refill both mine and my brothers cartridges seeing as they're practically the same (no issues with ink compatibility?). However I'm aware the newer '526' cartridges are opaque making filling them up a risky process. What I'll do then is to obtain old genuine '521' cartridges and transplant the '526' chip across, this should be okay right? This will give me a transparent cartridge set, so I'll have two sets of '521' cartridges - one with '521' chips for my MP640 and the other with '526' chips for the MG5250.

So far so good, now though I'm left with the business of resetting both sets of cartridges. Rather than buying two different resetters, I was thinking of possibly buying another set of 526's, stealing the chip and transplanting to a '521' set of cartridges - ASSUMING the MP640 will accept the newer '526' set? This should mean that I'll only require a 526 resetter for 20~.

Sorry for the confusion, and any advice is appreciated! :)

jimbo123

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
MP830 MP980
lot of good info on this site, keep digging you learn about the various refill methods, supplies, etc

i'm over 200+ refills over nearly 4 years, german method w squeeze bottles, for me simple and fast