Canon PIXMA MP830 - from printing perfect to spewing blanks

jmmatlock

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi there - Brand newbie here, so please bear with me.

2 days ago, my PIXMA MP830 was printing just fine. I print 95% of the time in grayscale/b&w (using the large black cartridge), saving the colors for photo printing. I had several cartridges showing low ink levels, but I always ignore the warnings and tell the printer "ok" and continue to print until the printer says they're empty (when the warning over the ink tank in the display changes from ! to X). Somewhere between ! and X on the large black, the printer started sending out completely blank pages. It's not as if the printer went from fine, to lined pages, to blank. Just fine one print job, and less than 20 minutes later, blank page on the next print job.

I tried changing the cartridge - nothing. I tried cleaning the print heads (both the regular and deep cleaning, in fact, probably wasted the entire new cartridge and the rest of them by doing a total of 4 deep cleanings!) - nothing. I called Canon customer service and they suggested that the problem was with the new cartridge, and they are sending me a new one to see if that fixes the problem (which I doubt).

Has anyone experienced anything like this? Does this sound like a clogged print head or something else?

I can print okay in color - as long as it's ALL color. Any black text is either completely missing, or seriously messed up (prints a line here and there, but very randomly).

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

leo8088

Printing Ninja
Reaction score