Win 10

Emulator

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
1,674
Reaction score
1,303
Points
267
Location
UK
Printer Model
Canon Pro9000 II
The latest Win 10 auto upgrade certainly has messed my system around. Is it just me or has anyone else experienced the same?
 

Ink stained Fingers

Printer Master
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,432
Points
273
Location
Germany
Printer Model
L310/382/1800, P400, Pro7600
not on my systems so far - I did an upgrade to version 1903 recently and got the patch updates this morning. But that does not mean very much since your system/software/configuration is most likely quite different to mine.
Do you have a backup to go back ? Or are your problems reported somewhere on the internet ?
What type of problems do you have ? Do you get any error codes ?
 

3dogs

Printer Master
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
990
Points
243
Location
Fern Hill, Australia
Printer Model
Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
The latest Win 10 auto upgrade certainly has messed my system around. Is it just me or has anyone else experienced the same?
I'm wrestling with Lightroom and newly installed Win 10........I have enough problems already, dont need that one added.
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,361
Reaction score
4,469
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MP830, Pencil
The latest Win 10 auto upgrade
Which one(s)? Not everyone is on the same schedule.

What happened after the upgrade. Specifics???

Here's what I have waiting to be updated today:


Win 10 Update.png



And here's what's been recently updated:

Win 10 Update Old.jpg
 
Last edited:

Emulator

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
1,674
Reaction score
1,303
Points
267
Location
UK
Printer Model
Canon Pro9000 II
Incidentally I am running "Firefox".

The system tells me:-
"You're currently running a version of windows that's nearing the end of support. We recommend you update to the most recent version of Windows 10 now to get the latest features and security improvements."

This I have now done. (Heaven help me!)
 
Last edited:

Emulator

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
1,674
Reaction score
1,303
Points
267
Location
UK
Printer Model
Canon Pro9000 II
The Windows 10 upgrade as per post#5, is working OK. The auto update as post#1 corrupted the Firefox display layout and did not function normally.
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
259
Reaction score
217
Points
178
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
I’m still running win10-v1709 ( from April 2018, I think). I intend to keep it until they force me to upgrade at gunpoint (it will have to be a huge gun ).
When I updated 1709 to 1803 time ago, several things were disrupted for no apparent reason.
1-My dedicated monitor profile was lost and was replaced for one that Microsoft deemed convenient. I had to retrieve my profile from a backup.
2- Screen appearance was messed : fonts of the system and menus changed, colors, size of the scroll bars, icon size.. That was annoying and required considerable time to recover again my former setup.
3 ( worst of all ) those fecking bastds of Msoft keep the old win 1709 (25 Gbytes) in a folder named winold, that you can’t delete easily,because most files in there are protected, you don’t have permissions to access, etc. You need special utilities to gain access to these folders and a lot of time and patience to erase the residual installation.
At least they should give the option to delete with one simple click the old win folder, if the user wishes so, or do they expect that at any major upgrade we’ll have to waste 25Gb of space in the disk ?
In the end, I was so fed up with this pointless idiocy that I reverted to win 1709 from my backup and I've ignoring further updates since then.
Now, maybe I’m missing something and there’s a simple way to avoid all that crap, specially erasing quickly the old win 10 folder. So I accept advices and suggestions from the geeks of this enlightened forum ( even at the cost of subtle scorn towards my clumsiness.:rolleyes: )
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,361
Reaction score
4,469
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MP830, Pencil
The auto update as post#1 corrupted the Firefox display layout and did not function normally.
What version of Firefox? You still haven't said what update(s) were done before Firefox went on the fritz. Could it be something you did after the update?

I do not know what you mean by "display layout" or "not functioning normally". These sort of things sometimes need to be explicitly defined for someone to help.

Did you successfully reinstall Firefox?

Sure, this is a PITA but as long as your data wasn't deleted then this should be easily remedied.

No, this did not happen to me.
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,361
Reaction score
4,469
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MP830, Pencil
So I accept advices and suggestions
Didn't we cover this topic before with you?

maybe I’m missing something
Yes. But I know you are better than this.

1-My dedicated monitor profile was lost and was replaced for one that Microsoft deemed convenient. I had to retrieve my profile from a backup.
Are you sure the custom profile was not on the drive and only needed to be selected again? Regardless, you had a backup, just like you should for things like custom monitor profiles. Easy breezy resolution.

2- Screen appearance was messed : fonts of the system and menus changed, colors, size of the scroll bars, icon size.. That was annoying and required considerable time to recover again my former setup.
Yes, this can happen with major updates. Or it could just be your set up. I also had to do some settings changes. Yes, it was time consuming PITA.

3 ( worst of all ) those fecking bastds of Msoft keep the old win 1709 (25 Gbytes) in a folder named winold, that you can’t delete easily,because most files in there are protected, you don’t have permissions to access, etc.
First, if you had deleted the files then you wouldn't have been able to revert back to the older Windows 10 version. Second, these old files will be deleted automatically after a period of time. Third, unless something has significantly changed, you can manually delete the old files, even Microsoft has directions on how to do it. Other web pages discuss how to delete the old files and are easily found on Google such as this and this.
 
Top