1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: New Light Standard Design - Ongoing Update
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Win 10

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by Emulator, Jul 10, 2019.

  1. Jul 10, 2019
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    The latest Win 10 auto upgrade certainly has messed my system around. Is it just me or has anyone else experienced the same?
     
  2. Jul 10, 2019
    Ink stained Fingers

    Ink stained Fingers Printer Master

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    3,303
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    Germany
    Printer Model:
    L310/382/1800, P400, Pro7600
    not on my systems so far - I did an upgrade to version 1903 recently and got the patch updates this morning. But that does not mean very much since your system/software/configuration is most likely quite different to mine.
    Do you have a backup to go back ? Or are your problems reported somewhere on the internet ?
    What type of problems do you have ? Do you get any error codes ?
     
    Emulator and The Hat like this.
  3. Jul 10, 2019
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    I'm wrestling with Lightroom and newly installed Win 10........I have enough problems already, dont need that one added.
     
    The Hat and Emulator like this.
  4. Jul 10, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,187
    Likes Received:
    4,316
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Which one(s)? Not everyone is on the same schedule.

    What happened after the upgrade. Specifics???

    Here's what I have waiting to be updated today:


    Win 10 Update.png


    And here's what's been recently updated:

    Win 10 Update Old.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
    The Hat and Emulator like this.
  5. Jul 10, 2019
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    Incidentally I am running "Firefox".

    The system tells me:-
    "You're currently running a version of windows that's nearing the end of support. We recommend you update to the most recent version of Windows 10 now to get the latest features and security improvements."

    This I have now done. (Heaven help me!)
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  6. Jul 10, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,187
    Likes Received:
    4,316
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    So what did Windows 10 upgrade do to your system???
     
  7. Jul 10, 2019
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    The Windows 10 upgrade as per post#5, is working OK. The auto update as post#1 corrupted the Firefox display layout and did not function normally.
     
  8. Jul 10, 2019
    Artur5

    Artur5 Print Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Printer Model:
    Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
    I’m still running win10-v1709 ( from April 2018, I think). I intend to keep it until they force me to upgrade at gunpoint (it will have to be a huge gun ).
    When I updated 1709 to 1803 time ago, several things were disrupted for no apparent reason.
    1-My dedicated monitor profile was lost and was replaced for one that Microsoft deemed convenient. I had to retrieve my profile from a backup.
    2- Screen appearance was messed : fonts of the system and menus changed, colors, size of the scroll bars, icon size.. That was annoying and required considerable time to recover again my former setup.
    3 ( worst of all ) those fecking bastds of Msoft keep the old win 1709 (25 Gbytes) in a folder named winold, that you can’t delete easily,because most files in there are protected, you don’t have permissions to access, etc. You need special utilities to gain access to these folders and a lot of time and patience to erase the residual installation.
    At least they should give the option to delete with one simple click the old win folder, if the user wishes so, or do they expect that at any major upgrade we’ll have to waste 25Gb of space in the disk ?
    In the end, I was so fed up with this pointless idiocy that I reverted to win 1709 from my backup and I've ignoring further updates since then.
    Now, maybe I’m missing something and there’s a simple way to avoid all that crap, specially erasing quickly the old win 10 folder. So I accept advices and suggestions from the geeks of this enlightened forum ( even at the cost of subtle scorn towards my clumsiness.:rolleyes: )
     
    Emulator and The Hat like this.
  9. Jul 11, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,187
    Likes Received:
    4,316
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    What version of Firefox? You still haven't said what update(s) were done before Firefox went on the fritz. Could it be something you did after the update?

    I do not know what you mean by "display layout" or "not functioning normally". These sort of things sometimes need to be explicitly defined for someone to help.

    Did you successfully reinstall Firefox?

    Sure, this is a PITA but as long as your data wasn't deleted then this should be easily remedied.

    No, this did not happen to me.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  10. Jul 11, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,187
    Likes Received:
    4,316
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Didn't we cover this topic before with you?

    Yes. But I know you are better than this.

    Are you sure the custom profile was not on the drive and only needed to be selected again? Regardless, you had a backup, just like you should for things like custom monitor profiles. Easy breezy resolution.

    Yes, this can happen with major updates. Or it could just be your set up. I also had to do some settings changes. Yes, it was time consuming PITA.

    First, if you had deleted the files then you wouldn't have been able to revert back to the older Windows 10 version. Second, these old files will be deleted automatically after a period of time. Third, unless something has significantly changed, you can manually delete the old files, even Microsoft has directions on how to do it. Other web pages discuss how to delete the old files and are easily found on Google such as this and this.
     
    Artur5 and The Hat like this.

Share This Page