Which Printer to Buy?

RWL

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
I print primarily documents and only occasionally a photo. I print a fair number of CDs. Ability to refill cartridges is a must. I've been using Canons for at least 15 years, but I'm open to other possibilities if another brand is a better choice.

Absolute requirements:
Refillable cartridges
Must directly print onto CDs/DVDs
Duplex printing (Double sided printing)

Desirable features
An all in one with a scanner and ideally one that does well on OCR; the scanner on my MG5420 doesn't scan nearly as crisply as my ancient Canonscan 8400f
Not an ink guzzler
Reasonable printing speed - i.e. not painfully slow

....and if you found a review of this topic more recently than 2016, point me to it.

wilko

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pixma
I think you are seeking the impossible. I have 3 different Canon MFPs and none have great scanners, if you are looking for crisp photos with anything like true colours. They're good for documents etc but, IMO, you need a dedicated scanner for realistic scans. I was so fed up with the poor quality scans with my MFPs that I invested in an Epson V550 and the scans are far superior to the MFP ones. Canon MFPs always seem to get good reviews for scanner quality so I don't think you'll find better elsewhere.

Personally I'd stick with your Canon scanner and invest in a cheap Canon printer. I've been using an IP7200 for over 12 months with refillable carts and haven't had one Print Head problem. Personally I don't think that there is a printer on the market that can compare with the IP7200 for value.

Duplex and CD printing and wireless all for less than £50 with OEM carts, in the UK. Refillable carts readily available and you can flog the OEM carts on EBay for about £25. It's the last of the Canon printer bargains.