The Pro 1 with the B200 dilemma...

William Edwards

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon / Pixma Pro-1
Hello, great information here as well as community.

I've been doing some research on the Canon Pixma-Pro 1 to help a friend out with the B200 issue. I've read through a lot of discussions and various threads on the topic. Appreciate all the wisdom and cautionary information here. Pretty much determined it requires a new print head as multiple attempts to reset either with the panel buttons or service utility have been unsuccessful.
I am a certified technician on Epson wide format 7880, 7890 and P-Series printers as well as Fujifilm DL600 / DL650 / DX-100 / DE-100 so I have no problems with following a service manual, schematics or exploded parts diagrams. I am hoping someone here could supply me with a Canon Pixma-Pro-1 service guide or the process to properly replace a print head when the system is carriage locked to the right under a B200 error. Also, any reliable sources for genuine Canon Pixma-Pro-1 print heads would be helpful as well. Unfortunately, it seems Canon is washing their hands of supporting this printer at all. It is a shame as I have found it to be an excellent quality printer when functioning properly. I am hopeful with the right information I can resurrect this printer and help out a friend. Many thanks in advance.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
O’ that dreaded B200 error issue, your biggest problem is to clear the error log first then you can try to rectify the problem itself, while B200 refers directly to the print head, it doesn’t necessarily mean the head needs to be replaced.

The first thing to remember is the Pro 1 is intelligent with an active live memory, and the second is don’t take it for granted because it’s not an Epson and any experience you have in that field may well hinder your progress with this beast. (It bites)