The difference in the two main refill methods

rodbam

Printer Master
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pro 9000 mk2 & Pro 9500
I'm just a newbie learning heaps here, thanks all. I'm a little confused about the two most popular ways to refill a cartridge.
1...Fill from the top into the empty chamber by removing the OEM plug & refitting a new one.
2.. The so called German way of making a small hole in the bottom side of the sponge chamber.
Seeing as both methods inject ink into the empty chamber how is one considered better than the other?
They both seem to be about the same amount of effort & I'm a bit confused as to which one to use for my first refill.
Seeing as both inject into the empty chamber I can't see how this affects leakage, or does it?
Regards Rod

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530
Here is a good testimonial to the German method.

But the leakage issue has to do with sealing the refill hole when you're done refilling. With the top fill method, if you don't have an air-tight seal, the ink will drain right out of the reservoir into the print head, out the nozzles and all over the inside of your printer. This won't happen with the German refill method, but you still should put a piece of tape over the German refill hole. Since the seal doesn't have to be a secure on the German method, that means it is a lot easier to make the refill hole because you don't have to be concerned about an absolutely air tight seal. Also, you don't have to seal the outlet port while you are refilling.

Emerald, if you right click on the date/time tag of the post you want to link to and Copy Shortcut, it will take the user right to your post without having to search for it.

errante

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score