1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Best precision printer
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Service mode for Pro-100

Discussion in 'Canon InkJet Printers' started by Grazer5, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. Jan 14, 2015
    Grazer5

    Grazer5 Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Printer Model:
    Pro-100, Ricoh Pro 7100S
    Does anyone know how to enter service mode on a Canon Pro-100? Or what software/tools are required?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Jan 14, 2015
    Roy Sletcher

    Roy Sletcher Indolent contrarian Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Ottawa, CANADA
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro-100, and Epson 3880

    Delighted to be able to help somebody. As a user rather than a techie, it is not ofter I get the chance to make a useful reply.

    The link below is something I filed away in my "rainy day" file.

    DISCLAIMER:
    I have never used the service mode, or the information in the following link. My information may be superseded by later more knowledgeable participants

    http://www.smoothprinterservice.com/?s=pro100


    RS
    Always happy to be of service. Have a nice day.
     
  3. Jan 14, 2015
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    4,361
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    @Roy Sletcher

    Very nice link, Roy. A treasure trove of information. :clap

    Any idea which Service Tool and where to get it?
     
    The Hat likes this.
  4. Jan 14, 2015
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    5,382
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @Roy Sletcher has provided the perfect answer for you so you can enter Service Mode safely on your Pro 100.

    If you have any difficulty getting the Service Tool then PM me and I’ll send you the Tool V3400 which will work, but be sure you know the correct buttons to press before you start, this tool can be destructive if not use properly..
     
    Łukasz and PeterBJ like this.
  5. Jan 14, 2015
    PeterBJ

    PeterBJ Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    3,367
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
    Here is a confirmation that the procedure from smoothprinterservice works.

    You find a download link for service tool v3400 here or a Google translation here. Scroll down to post #13 by "Sir Sava". The link works both from the original Russian site and the Google translation. I scanned the download with both AVG Internet security and Malwarebytes Antimalware. No threats were found. The version 3400 is very similar to version 3200 of the service tool. Being newer it possibly supports more printer models.

    You find an instruction for use for the older but similar version 2000 of the service tool in the first post in this thread. The download links in that post no longer work. I'm going to edit the updates.
     
    stratman, Łukasz and The Hat like this.
  6. Jan 15, 2015
    Grazer5

    Grazer5 Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Printer Model:
    Pro-100, Ricoh Pro 7100S
    This tool only works on Windows, right?
     
  7. Jan 15, 2015
    PeterBJ

    PeterBJ Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    3,367
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
    Yes all versions of Canon service tools only work with Windows. MacOS and Linux cannot be used. Also note that the use of a USB connection is necessary, the service tools don't support LAN and WLAN.

    The newest versions of the service tool 3200 and 3400 work with Windows XP, Vista, 7 ,8 and 8.1 and both 32 and 64 bit.

    If you don't have a Windows computer, try borrowing a Windows laptop. The version of Windows is not important if it is XP or newer.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  8. Jan 15, 2015
    Grazer5

    Grazer5 Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Printer Model:
    Pro-100, Ricoh Pro 7100S
    ok, thanks
     
    The Hat and PeterBJ like this.
  9. Feb 14, 2019
    websnail

    websnail Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    785
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    South Yorks, UK
    Printer Model:
    Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
    Just a quick note... the domain for that smoothprinterservice has now defaulted and is up for sale so the info went with it...

    ... unless someone kept a copy...
     
    The Hat likes this.
  10. Aug 14, 2019 at 5:23 PM
    LoganP

    LoganP Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Roswell NM, USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon PIXMA Pro-100
    @The Hat @websnail

    Hello! I was looking for info on getting into the service mode and using a service tool for the Pixma Pro 100. I was wondering if your expertise might be able to help me out, as most of these links seem to be out of date.
    I reset a Pro-100 years ago with a Japanese service tool I found somewhere (which I no longer have). I can't quite figure it out this time around.
     

Share This Page