Self Confessed Sceptic!

pete

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am VERY keen to reduce my printing costs. I do ALOT of printing marketing my business, and have to date only used manufacturer cartridges.

I use a Canon ip5000 (now i do, got it 2 weeks ago, used to use epsons). I also use an Epson large format printer (I am a photographer).

Now....what about this refilling business? I have never even used a compatable cart, let alone refilled one of my own, but i bought a new black (3e) cart today, and payed $21 for it (australian). Sitting next to it was a refil kit for $7. Boy i was tempted. The main fear i have it stuffing the printer.

What do i need to know before i start refilling? Any vital parts of the process? Any ink manufactuers expecially good? What do i need to do to avoid needing a new printer? With my Canon, does the ink monitor automatically refill? Does the 3e cartidge need to be refilled with pigment ink?

Anyone care to convince me that i should buy refills?

Thankyou muchly for any help.

Pete.

panos

Print Addict
Reaction score
"Anyone care to convince me that i should buy refills?"

Since you have initial reservations, it would be pointless to convince you. Yes refilling can go wrong and create a mess.

You can buy non-OEM cartridges at less than 1/3 of the original cartridges. Thus you can reap the rewards of economy without laboring on the art of refilling. Search the web for your local supplier.

Craig Ross

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Pete
G,day to a fellow aussie, you say you want to reduce printing costs to say refilling will save you money is an understatement I calculate an average canon cart to cost 85cents to refill. I also work in photographics so colour is reasonably important .Having said that there is a learning curve that needs to be negotiated for me about 12 months and this forum is a good starting place.but as a professional I,m sure you will do what needs to be done to achieve results.

fotofreek