Refill kits vs CISS

juntjoo

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
XP-960
I'm pretty new to all this. I've used a refill kit with my old cheap HP 3632 which uses the two 63 cartridges and it was a waste. I'm sure I did something wrong but somehow it ended up regardless of the level of ink the print heads would just dry up. Maybe it my use of rubbing alcohol to clean? Anyway, so now with my new Epson XP-960, super nice printer BTW from my short experience so far, I'm considering going the CISS route but from what I've learned so far it's an ugly setup with the lid having to be propped up all the time looking like something hospitalized hooked up to an IV system. So is it better than a good refill kit? How do these methods compare? Pros & Cons? I figure they both save you on cost of ink so if the difference is marginal it shouldn't matter. Reliability? I'd prefer the cleaner refill method if there is a good kit out there for my 227 cartridges. Or should I look into getting a laser printer(see my other thread) which we know(?) is cheaper by default and can print on whatever finish like the many posterboards I find locally. Thanks!

pharmacist

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson SC-P800,WF-7840,XP-15000
Actually: the XP-960 is a terrible, if not impossible to be used with a CISS. It has everything to do with the way the construction of this machine. The better choice would be an Epson 1500W printer, if you would consider a CISS. Even refillables would be difficult because of the sponge based cartridges, which sooner or later will give flow problems, unless maintained well on a regular base (flushing the sponge material in order to prevent flow problems after some time of intensive usage).

juntjoo

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
XP-960