Recommendations on ink photo printer

PhotoJan

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pro-100S Epson L1800
Hi,
I am fairly new to the game and would greatly appreciate some recommendations on photo printer. I am looking for a solution to cover my photo print scenarios in a value for money manner. Expected print volume for the first year is:
50x A3 borderless photo print outs
100x A4 borderless photo print outs
200x smaller than A4, borderless photo print outs
Majority of the photos will be people's portraits. All photo print outs should be fairly fade resistant meaning A3/A4 would be hanging on the walls and smaller print outs would go to photo albums. Therefore I assume the printer should use pigment inks. I was looking at printers like Canon Pixma Pro-100S or Epson SC-P400. On the other hand if there is a solution how to replace dye inks with pigment inks and use Epson's Ecotank printers like L1800/L7180/ET7750 for the job and minimize running cost that would be also great. I have no special requirements on paper and I am fine with paper specs of the mentioned printers. Thank you for your insights.
Jan

Ink stained Fingers

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
L805, WF2010, ET8550
You are raising some very valid questions for your photo printer aquisition, please let me comment on some issues.
The best dye inks in regards to fading are the genuine OEM inks - Canon Chromalife or Epson Claria, refill inks don't give you comparible performance at all. Epson users have a budget option - the Epson 106 inks for the ET7750 can be used for refill for other printers - e.g. the L1800, the 106 inks perform better than the inks which come with the L1800. Canon Pro 100 users don't have this option, they should stay with the original Chromalife inks if fade resistance is of concern.