[Problem fixed] Please help me diagnost my MP760 (nozzle check)

chilicoke

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I have a MP760 that I've purchased new many years ago that gets regularly used, mostly for B/W printing (homework, shipping labels, etc).

A week ago it started to show white lines across my prints. Nozzle check shows consistent missing columns, multiple cleaning and deep cleaning don't seem to help at all.
printer.jpg

I assumed it just needs a new print head. While browsing around for prices I randomly stumbled onto this forum and was surprised (and a little bit overwhelmed) by the amount of information.
After a little bit of reading I realized the missing columns might be caused by an electrical problem, but because I am a complete novice when it comes to trouble shoot printers I would really appreciate it if I could get some feedback.

Please ignore the color pattern as I believe some color tanks are empty (again, almost exclusively used as a B/W printer)

Also, is there a sticky guide/tutorial somewhere that shows the basic steps of cleaning/maintance/to-do, not-to-do/de-clogging guide for newbies?

Thank you guys very much.

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530
You're not a novice anymore. You have correctly analyzed your print head problem. Great work! You can step to the head of the class.

And you are right, we should have some stickies here that summarize some of the best solutions to the more common problems. Some of these are already summarized on the FAQ's link at the top of this page but there is much room for improvement. Maybe you could suggest some threads that you think are particularly helpful and we can see about getting them added.

chilicoke

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Thanks for your respond ghwellsjr. I really like this printer and it has served me well, would like to take a gamble and order a new print head in the following days. Before then, just a few quick questions: