Printing With Alternative Inks- Thought Experiment

PhotographerMatt

Print Lurker
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson 3800, 4800, 4880
Hey all. First time posting here. Hope this bizarre question is welcome in your forum.

Basically, I'm a photographer and I'm wondering if it's possible to print on inkjet paper with disappearing ink.

My first thoughts were to refill an empty cartridge with disappearing ink and printing on a watercolor (assuming this would work better because it is more porous) inkjet paper. I would be great to make each of the cmyk inks to make a full color print, but even getting just black ink to work would be great.

I have access to Epson 3800, 4800, and 4880 printers.

I came across an article where a book was printed with disappearing ink and wondered if it would be possible to do with an inkjet printer.

http://www.theverge.com/2012/6/27/3120431/draftcb-disappearing-ink-books

Thanks for reading through this rough idea. Any thoughts or info on the subject would be greatly appreciated.

costadinos

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
7900, 4900, 9890, R2000, P50
You could do that in principle, the success would depend on the physical characteristics of the ink you are using.
Unless it's too viscous to flow properly or contains large particles that could clog the printhead, and of course of very high/low pH (risk of corrosion), it should work.

Epson and Brother printers (piezo heads) would be ideal, but I'd personally run some tests on a cheaper printer before risking a 3800/4880.

Have you already found ink that "disappears"? Maybe you could try something similar to the acidic / basic indicators that chemists use to test for acidity/alkalinity of a solution and change colour accordingly. You'll then need a solution that turns acidic when exposed to air (by oxidation of its components for instance)...

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MP990
Hi PhotographerMatt