1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Health & Safety and 3D Printing.
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Pixma pro 1 rollback the firmware

Discussion in 'Canon InkJet Printers' started by Gcom, Feb 18, 2019.

  1. Feb 18, 2019
    Gcom

    Gcom Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    South Wales
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pixma Pro-1
    I recently replaced the printhead on my pro 1 and getting good results again. Many thanks to this group. I am now aware that the next possible problem could be a full waste ink tank. I'm quite prepared to try to fit an ink potty when that fateful day arrives but I understand the eprom needs to be reset. I gather the firmware update a year ago stops this by not allowing access to service mode. Anybody had any success in rolling back the firmware to make access possible?
     
  2. Feb 18, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,711
    Likes Received:
    5,453
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    Try this out, and if your lucky then you can enter service Mode, if it doesn’t work then just carry on as before because your EPROM has block access to it and there is nothing more you can do about it.

    If this works for you then carry out the instruction therein carefully and then exit Service More by pressing the ON/ OFF button, don’t be tempted to do anything else, Service tools App can be destructive.

    Please remember don’t try out these instructions unless you intend to use them, any attempts at a trail run will most likely end with you been lock out for good...

    If you wish to proceed then good luck with your quest...
    To use the Service tool App. first rename the file back to Service tool.exe, this file is not a Zip file so don’t try to unzip it by clicking on it..
    Copy both files to your desktop and read the PDF first..
     

    Attached Files:

    Gcom likes this.
  3. Feb 18, 2019
    Gcom

    Gcom Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    South Wales
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pixma Pro-1
    @The Hat . Thanks for the information. I will study this very carefully and then consider how to proceed. I can't help but think that the manufacturers are deliberately making things difficult for no real good reason. Either that or they are dreadful engineers! :hu Thanks again. I will keep the forum posted on progress.
     
  4. Feb 18, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    4,412
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Uh oh.

    Hat Tool.jpg
     
  5. Feb 19, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,711
    Likes Received:
    5,453
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @Gcom, Canon only allows the owner to use the printer to print with, and have blocked the owners from interfering with the internal software that runs them, they now expect you to send the printer to them for any Service your printer may require, it wasn’t always like this, it all depends on the age of your firmware..
    No need to worry @stratman, because the file is perfectly safe, otherwise I couldn’t have it on my system to be able to post it here, The said file is an actual Exe file, so your system is flagging it for that very reason.:eek:

    Nifty doesn’t allow EXE files to be up loaded and rightly so, but changing the extension gets around that restriction.;)
     
  6. Feb 19, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    4,412
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Maybe so.

    I have the Service Tool v.34300 as both a Zip and Rar, for some reason, and they check out as clean with Nortons.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Feb 19, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,711
    Likes Received:
    5,453
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    There you go, I tried first to save your attachment file and also to open it, but both times it failed, it would seem my system see’s your file as a threat... Déjà vu :oops:
     
  8. Feb 19, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    4,412
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    What application are you using to scan the EXE or RAR file?
     
  9. Feb 20, 2019
    websnail

    websnail Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    South Yorks, UK
    Printer Model:
    Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
    Norton is not my go-to when it comes to AV scanning... You'd be better off submitting the file to VirusTotal (we do it with WICReset versions) as it aggregates the various engines.

    Submitted it just now... Report link


    Norton has a habit of screaming Chicken Little at the slightest thing... which is good to a point... until it isn't.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  10. Feb 20, 2019
    websnail

    websnail Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    South Yorks, UK
    Printer Model:
    Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
    Erm... I take it back... Looks like your own AV has cleansed the zip @The Hat ... It's a corrupt zip file :)

    Oh heck... now that I've read the thread properly and looked at everything I'd say the version you had was infected @The Hat ... The file size alone is more than double what it should be even allowing for zip/rar differences in compression.

    Might be worth a thorough offline scan.
     

Share This Page