Pixma pro 1 rollback the firmware

Gcom

Getting Fingers Dirty
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
17
Points
30
Location
South Wales
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro-1
I recently replaced the printhead on my pro 1 and getting good results again. Many thanks to this group. I am now aware that the next possible problem could be a full waste ink tank. I'm quite prepared to try to fit an ink potty when that fateful day arrives but I understand the eprom needs to be reset. I gather the firmware update a year ago stops this by not allowing access to service mode. Anybody had any success in rolling back the firmware to make access possible?
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,527
Reaction score
6,170
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
Try this out, and if your lucky then you can enter service Mode, if it doesn’t work then just carry on as before because your EPROM has block access to it and there is nothing more you can do about it.

If this works for you then carry out the instruction therein carefully and then exit Service More by pressing the ON/ OFF button, don’t be tempted to do anything else, Service tools App can be destructive.

Please remember don’t try out these instructions unless you intend to use them, any attempts at a trail run will most likely end with you been lock out for good...

If you wish to proceed then good luck with your quest...
To use the Service tool App. first rename the file back to Service tool.exe, this file is not a Zip file so don’t try to unzip it by clicking on it..
Copy both files to your desktop and read the PDF first..
 

Attachments

Gcom

Getting Fingers Dirty
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
17
Points
30
Location
South Wales
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro-1
@The Hat . Thanks for the information. I will study this very carefully and then consider how to proceed. I can't help but think that the manufacturers are deliberately making things difficult for no real good reason. Either that or they are dreadful engineers! :hu Thanks again. I will keep the forum posted on progress.
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,873
Reaction score
5,008
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
Uh oh.

Hat Tool.jpg
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,527
Reaction score
6,170
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
I can't help but think that the manufacturers are deliberately making things difficult for no real good reason.
@Gcom, Canon only allows the owner to use the printer to print with, and have blocked the owners from interfering with the internal software that runs them, they now expect you to send the printer to them for any Service your printer may require, it wasn’t always like this, it all depends on the age of your firmware..
No need to worry @stratman, because the file is perfectly safe, otherwise I couldn’t have it on my system to be able to post it here, The said file is an actual Exe file, so your system is flagging it for that very reason.:eek:

Nifty doesn’t allow EXE files to be up loaded and rightly so, but changing the extension gets around that restriction.;)
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,873
Reaction score
5,008
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
The said file is an actual Exe file, so your system is flagging it for that very reason.
Maybe so.

I have the Service Tool v.34300 as both a Zip and Rar, for some reason, and they check out as clean with Nortons.
 

Attachments

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,527
Reaction score
6,170
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
I have the Service Tool v.34300 as both a Zip and Rar, for some reason, and they check out as clean with Nortons.
There you go, I tried first to save your attachment file and also to open it, but both times it failed, it would seem my system see’s your file as a threat... Déjà vu :oops:
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,873
Reaction score
5,008
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil

websnail

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
885
Points
317
Location
South Yorks, UK
Printer Model
Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
Norton is not my go-to when it comes to AV scanning... You'd be better off submitting the file to VirusTotal (we do it with WICReset versions) as it aggregates the various engines.

Submitted it just now... Report link


Norton has a habit of screaming Chicken Little at the slightest thing... which is good to a point... until it isn't.
 
Last edited:

websnail

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
885
Points
317
Location
South Yorks, UK
Printer Model
Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
Erm... I take it back... Looks like your own AV has cleansed the zip @The Hat ... It's a corrupt zip file :)

Oh heck... now that I've read the thread properly and looked at everything I'd say the version you had was infected @The Hat ... The file size alone is more than double what it should be even allowing for zip/rar differences in compression.

Might be worth a thorough offline scan.
 

Latest posts

Top