Pixma Pro 1 - no power problem

DoMiester

Print Lurker
Reaction score
Printer Model
Pixma Pro 1
Hello all, A newbie here with a sad problem!

Just recently bought a secondhand PIXMA pro 1. It arrived yesterday and will not power on. I have tried searching the web but can’t find much information on how to troubleshoot this problem.

The printer wasn’t very expensive but I understood it was working. As it weighs a lot the carriage is probably going to be high to return it. A Canon technician will also cost and could be a case of good money after bad.

Im quite handy and wanted to try a few things to see if I could establish what the problem might be before taking any next steps. Any help appreciated in trying to troubleshoot and ultimately fixing the issue.

Thanks Dom

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
Hi @DoMiester and welcome, Firstly you have been sold a very large heavy Lemon, the fact that it wont turn on is proof of that, and been handy is not a good accolade either, this printer does not like intruders, it knows how to fight back.

The best suggestion I can give you to save a lot of time, is to dump it in the trash, because sending the printer to a Canon Authorised dealer would be a complete no, no, and a new Pro 1 would nearly be as cheap.

But if you want to suffer the courier cost, the repair bill, the accessories bill and the return courier costs to get the printer back, then think again, the best option is to get a Pro 10 and put this awful experience behind you..

Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful..

websnail

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
Stupid question but I'm assuming you've tried changing the fuse in the plug... assuming it's a model that has a fuse in the power lead.

DoMiester

Print Lurker
Reaction score
Printer Model
Pixma Pro 1
Hi @The Hat - don't hold back lol...