Noob here ... with an old Canon BJC-4300 ... need help

beatmaniac

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I just got myself a Canon BJC-4300 for 99 on eBay .... now i thought this printer needed a BCI-21 cartridge and that's it ... but the cartridge is way to small to fit in the printer ... it looks like i have to get somekind of rack for both black and color cartridge to fit together in the printer.

Can anyone explain to me what i'm missing ... because no sales rep in any stores knew what to do with this printer that was probably made before those sales rep were born.

thanks in advance

Beatmaniac :)
beatmaniac@sympatico.ca

zakezuke

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
beatmaniac said:
I just got myself a Canon BJC-4300 for 99 on eBay .... now i thought this printer needed a BCI-21 cartridge and that's it ... but the cartridge is way to small to fit in the printer ... it looks like i have to get somekind of rack for both black and color cartridge to fit together in the printer.

Can anyone explain to me what i'm missing ... because no sales rep in any stores knew what to do with this printer that was probably made before those sales rep were born.
Probally a printhead. The basic canon design has changed very little, though during that time canon offered more of a choice. The only thing different is on a modern canon printer you typicaly can't buy the head at the same store as the ink, and if you do they typicaly don't come with ink.

1. BC-20 black high yield - This was a huge black tank with intragrated head. Cost a pretty penny but offered a huge yield in the same class as the HP 45a. 40ish ml IIRC OEM - $30ish
2. BC-22e photo cartridge - intragrated head OEM-$40ish
3. BCI-21E This was the printhead that took BCI-21B and BCI-21C tanks sold with the ink tanks attached IIRC. OEM $50ish $10 and $20 aprox for the replacement tanks.
4. BC-29f Floressent ink cartridge - intragrated head

IIRC there also was an option to replace your ink head with a scanner head.