Newbie questions

Lumi

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hello! In a rather impulsive mood, I bought a Canon LBP7110Cw because it was cheap and came with some extra goodies (a 1TB external HDD and a cheapo tablet). I've been yearning for a color laser printer for ages now.... I used to be naughty and print out stuff at work but we're no longer doing color prints so I've got more motivation now to get my own printer.

I've had some experience with refilling my own color inkjet printers and I currently have a Canon Pro9000 that is serving me well, however, I'm always wary of ruining my printouts due to liquids so a color laser is really stepping in and filling a gap.

So anyway, on to my questions:
1. I am aware of the current practice of manufacturers to offer printers at dirt-cheap prices and recoup the costs on consumables/ink, which is part of the reason I refill my own inkjet printers. Is there a similar method for color laser printers/toners?

2. Do I have to buy new toner carts each time or can I simply refill the carts (sorry if this question is stupid as I have no idea what/how toners are refilled)?

3. Do toner carts have chips similar to the new inkjet carts?

4. Any tips/tricks that would help out a new color laser printer owner?

5. Can someone confirm that my printer does NOT do duplex? I cannot find info to confirm it so I wonder if it does/doesn't and if I'm just missing something. If it doesn't, then it isn't end-of-the-world as I can simply print out odd pages, flip them over, then print on the other side with even pages.

Thanks for any help!

Łukasz

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
MG6250 (MG5150 before)
Hello!
  1. Yes.
  2. No, but refilling toner carts can be challenging. Buying new ready-made or refilled is safer - can be returned to seller if it fail to print.
  3. Yes.
  4. CRG-731 is HP 131A toner with different chip identity. Not sure how HP 131A compatible will be recognized in this printer.