1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Best precision printer
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

New Prusa 2 Slicer

Discussion in '3D Printing Design, CAD, Modelling, Filament, etc.' started by Redbrickman, Jul 29, 2019.

  1. Jul 29, 2019
    Redbrickman

    Redbrickman Printer Master

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    MB5150
    stratman likes this.
  2. Jul 29, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    4,361
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    I do not have a 3D printer but I enjoyed this well done video. Dave makes the complicated seem easy.
     
    The Hat and Redbrickman like this.
  3. Jul 29, 2019
    Redbrickman

    Redbrickman Printer Master

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    MB5150
    Yes, there are so many settings and parameters in slicing programems and all of them can have different names for the same setting, so a simple to understand walkthrough makes all the difference.
     
    The Hat and stratman like this.
  4. Jul 30, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    5,382
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    Dave needs to see from my side…then he might think different..:eek:
    Just changing one setting can Frig the whole thing up..:he
    I became a bit sceptical when I saw him coping the CURA Start/End Codes… :confused:
     
  5. Jul 30, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    4,361
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    What are you skeptical about? :idunno
     
  6. Jul 31, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    5,382
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    The main reason for my scepticism was Prusa 2 Slicer are well capable of producing their own codes or even using CURA settings, but expecting users to plagiarize them is a bit rich.. :eek:
     
  7. Jul 31, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    4,361
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    I looked up Cura. It is an open source free app. So, no stealing or plagiarizing in this instance. But I hear you about Prusa being able to generate their own codes. Since I don't know these software I cannot speak to much about any of it.
     
  8. Jul 31, 2019
    NurseBob

    NurseBob Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    9
    FWIW, end and start codes, regardless of manufacturer, are G-Codes, which is the standard means of "talking" to a 3D printer, and originally for CNC machines. They are a standardized set of instructions.

    Edit: When you run slicer and export, the resulting file is all g-code. If you want, it's a text file and can be opened with any editor. Slic3r walks through your model in the same manner that a CT scanner does and creates layers for every millimeter in elevation that describe the set of movements to the print head in 2D space. Each layer is the Z-axis, which is the 3D component.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2019

Share This Page