My Octoprint Octopi Journey

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Reaction score
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
Well, it's an Octoprint Octopi Journey that might end with me deciding not to take the journey. LOL!

So, I don't know much about it. I don't even know the difference between Octoprint and Octopi.

I've NEVER done anything with a Raspberry Pi before, and it feels a little daunting.

I also have a bunch of old laptops (mostly Chromebooks, but one SUPER old Windows machines) and old phones that I'd be curious about repurposing to use instead of a Pi (to save money and reuse/repurpose).

This video gave me the idea:

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Reaction score
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
... now to add to my infinite options:

I just read about new mainboards / motherboards for upgrading 3D printers and see that some come with Wifi, octoprint support, etc. already built-in.

So, instead of adding Octoprint to my old CR-10, I could go down a rabbit hole of trying to upgrade the main board of my Creality CR-10 with silent drivers, wifi, etc. already built-in.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
So, instead of adding Octoprint to my old CR-10, I could go down a rabbit hole
And you know what happens when you go down a dark rabbit hole..:th
I’ll leave that one to your own imagination..
Stick to what you’re comfortable with..;)

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Reaction score
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
I've been *mostly* content doing all prints via USB that are under an hour, then anything over, doing via SD card.

Unfortunately the USB connection has been sketchy and when connected to USB the intro flash-screen on my printer just keeps refreshing. Sometimes it will refresh 3 times, then look ok, but when I print via USB, the printer disconnects within about 10 mins and the CR-10 screen starts refreshing over and over.