Magenta 221 Flushing Filling

mrelmo

Print Addict
Reaction score
OK I have been refilling for many years and all of a sudden my magenta cartridges will not accept the ink, I have used the conditioning fluid as prescribed by the pharmacist to no avail, these are OEM cartridges that I purchased sometime ago on ebay they are canon 221 cartridges (virgin) most recently I put a new print head in thinking the magenta nozzles were burnt now when I refill I can see that the sponge is not accepting the ink (old ink maybe) in the past when I top filled the sponge would just suck up the ink and I would have to hold my thumb ocer the serpentine hole to prevent the sponge from over filling WHAT IS GOING ON, my next attempt is to fill the cartridge with the conditioning fluid and let it sit over night before refilling.

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MP990
I have also had problems with the PGI-520/CLI-521 cartridges, except for the chip and the label these cartridges are identical to the PGI-220/CLI-221 cartridges. These cartridges seem to be more fragile/temperamental than the older BCI-3e/6 and PGI-5/CLI-8 cartridges.

That the problem shows in magenta cartridges makes me think that the sponges could be clogged by fungus, magenta is the most affected colour, but this has also happened with other colours. But if a "virgin empty" cartridge refuses to absorb the refill ink, I think problems with the refill ink can be ruled out.

There are two sponges in a PGI-x20/CLI-x21 cartridge. The lower sponge is hydrophilic and the upper sponge is hydrofobic. See this post by ghwellsjr.

A simple burn test suggests that both the sponges are made from polypropylene, a material that is normally hydrophobic, so maybe the lower sponges are treated chemically to make them hydrophilic?

I have experienced a Magenta CLI-521 cartridge that suddenly would not deliver or accept ink. I think this was similar to your problem. Link here.