IP3000 cross contamination - cause?

kanonvater

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon IP3000
Greetings! I'm a newbie, though I've been lurking for several months.

This IP3000 is new to me as of around March 2017, though it's moderately well-used -- about 4600 pages. The drain sheet is over 70% full. Purge count when I got it was M=8, R=10, T=624 (!), D=1, C=26.

I'm still using original factory-filled Canon carts, though they're of unknown age. Plan to refill them, if the printer itself hangs in there.

I've had problems all along with pg black, as you can see below. However, that's for another time. Right now I'm more concerned with the colors. I have a laser printer for black text.

Just yesterday I used the printer for the first time in about 3 weeks (power was off but it was plugged in). On a nozzle check, there was a small area of magenta at the top of the yellow bar. Prints were striped, as you'd expect.

I ran a couple of cleanings and the print quality improved, but it was still somewhat stripey, for sure not what it had been a few weeks before.

Today it was much worse, with the yellow bar entirely magenta (see below).

When I took the Y cart out for inspection, a reddish discoloration was apparent in the bottom of the sponge side.

I ran a few cleaning cycles and printed a few letter-size sheets of #ffff00 yellow. After that the reddish discoloration in the cart was gone, but I was still getting magenta stripes that make it look like an old fashioned legal tablet. As you can see, the magenta cast diminishes quickly, but the few magenta pixels (?) at the top of each printhead pass are always there. (The image below doesn't show the entire letter size sheet.)

yellow_page_scaled.jpg

Maybe it's cross contamination through the purge pad? I hope....