Misca

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pixma2400
Hello All,

I am new to printer knowledge and also relatively new to the printing world,and have been reading up a lot online on printers that will suit my needs.

I really hope to get your advice and tips…

My question may seem repetitive and I apologize in advance for that.

However, I have a few more points and questions which may have not been asked in similar posts.

I am desperately searching for both an Inkjet printer and Laser printer for Card Stock 220+ gsm

I would like to state my requirements by first stating that I use a Mac OS X, ElCapitan Laptop, and my total budget for both printers is around 300-350 dollars,plus minus.

Laser:
  • I need a mono laser printer for printing on Card stock of 220 gsm + for foiling
  • Laser printer that is user friendly or compatible with my system
  • will be printing on mostly matte and slightly textured paper
  • light usage, probably not more than 60 sheets of 220 +/- gsm a month

I have researched both on other sites and this site too, and read from the popular member @The Hat here that he uses Samsung ML 1450, which is an older series.

I would like to know:

• How compatible or difficult/easy would it be to install the older model Samsung printer driver on my Mac OS X ? would I have issues of not being able to install it at all?
  • I have gone thru the specs of this printer ( Samsung ML 1450) online, but haven’t come across in the manual stating the maximum acceptable GSM on this printer as 400 gsm. ( Probably it is in the paper booklet, but not online. Only states Card stock in online pdf )
  • Is this given paper weight of 400 gsm for the Samsung ML-1450 mainly based on experience?