How to get neutral B&W with Colormunki + ArgyllCMS

FLMK

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hi,

Happy new yeah and I wish you all the best. :woot

I'm new to ArgyllCMS and colormunki.

After successfully profiled colors, I have problems to get neutral B&W prints.

I explain: I've made a profile to fix colors of my printer/paper/ink.

Here are my parameters:
targen -v -d2 -G -e8 -B8 -g128 -f576 10x15cm
printtarg -v -ii1 -a1 -A1 -T360 -m2 -p100x150 -L 10x15cm
chartread -v -H -B -T0.4 10x15cm
colprof -v -qh -S AdobeRGB1998.icc -dpp -D"Canon IX6540 - Sudhaus - Tecco High Gloss (PHG260)" "10x15cm"

I've found these arguments on this forum and I've modified few of them to match to my needs.

But I have few questions about that:
1) targen -v -d2 -G -e8 -B8 -g128 -f576 10x15cm
We all have CMYK ink printers (in general)... Why does people use d2 instead of d4?
Won't it be better to use d4?
Is it because we use the AdobeRGB profile in colprof?

2) I can't have a very neutral B&W with my parameters... I still have a little greenish /yellowish deviance depending of the picture... I can't have "grey scale" prints.
For example, if I have a picture of a grass, my print is a little bit greenish.
It depends of the picture... I can't explain when it happens... In some pictures, it's visible, in others, it does not appear...
So, I think I don't have enough patches to neutral the deviance of colors.
If I take my parameters, is it better to increase -g or increase -f or both?
For example, is it better to put -g256 -f576 or -g128 -f2000?
I want to be able to print neutral B&W pictures and be able to get sepia/"chocolate"/old color cast.

3) Is it possible to get a profile (500 patches for example) initially and "add" few corrections to my profile later?
I explain: Before, I had a Datacolor Spyder3Print.
I was able to create a color profile to correct color prints (around 700 patches).