How close of a colour match should I expect 3rd party inks to be?

AndrewB

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson SC-P400
Hi, I've been using a new Epson SC-P400 for a few months and recently switched to a CISS system by Marrutt, I also switched to the chipless firmware which works exactly as advertised. The CISS system was fairly easy to install but has been an absolute bear to get working, I was plagued with air in the head despite properly priming the system and having absolutely no air in the ink lines or dampers. I actually found that doing head cleans or printing purge pages would progressively make my nozzle checks worse! Eventually I ignored the instructions and elevated the ink tanks approx. 45mm above the table level (ink level still slightly below the print head, so no ink flooding out of the head) and that seemed to immediately fix my problems, now I can actually get a good nozzle check and printing doesn't seem to progressively make it worse.

My next issue is that the colour accuracy of these inks seems very different to OEM, which is surprising to me given on the website they claim that in most cases the original ICC profiles would be fine with their ink. It's not like it's even close really, if I use an ICC profile made for the OEM inks I get an extremely dark and very blue image that looks terrible. They also provide generic ICC profiles for their papers and inks which give a vastly better result but now with a noticeable red cast. They do also offer a free custom profile service which I'll have to take advantage of and which I'm sure will solve this issue, but I am surprised at how far off even their own profile for their own ink is, and how wildly different it is to the OEM profile results. Given what you read about 3rd party inks on various websites you'd expect only minor differences in colour without a custom profile, not absolutely NEEDING a custom profile to get anything close to accurate results.