Help with Epson Stylus photo 1500W issue, clogged nozzles? It came suddenly out of nowhere.

olynx

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson Stylus Photo 1500W
I'm new to this whole printing thing, but I have been reading different fora and such for 2 days now and I'm quite desperate at this point..
This came really out of nowhere. There are several issues going on at the same time but I want to figure out the most important one: clogged nozzles?

A couple of days ago I was printing out a swatch image from Photoshop to see what colors come out right. In the middle of the printing, it stopped and the printer gave a message "out of ink". All of the ink lights were lit up. I am using CISS with pigment inks from CityinkExpress. So I pressed the reset button as was instructed. This is where this problem started...

I wanted to continue printing out the images I was printing, but they came out faded and striped!
I did the nozzle check. Came out as clogged. So I followed the instruction of cleaning the heads.. I tried this several times but it seemed to get worse. Then I found the "solution" to this problem which is to put a damped paper towel with window cleaner under the print heads. For first tries it seemed to help the clogged problem, but the test pages still came out incomplete. I tried this several times. I let it sit overnight. It got completely clogged again.

This morning I tried the soaking again and it started getting better. But for some reason my Cyan is not showing up at all.

The very top "attempt" was after taking the cartridges out and trying to suck out the air of the Cyan cartridge with a syringe but it didn't make any difference plus the nozzle check came out even worse..
duesvQ3.jpg

I ordered an unclogging kit from ebay, it should arrive in a couple of days and I hope that will help my problem. But maybe I'm wrong and there's something else going on here? I really hope someone can help me out.