German Method for Refilling cli-42 and cli-721 carts... ?

printfan11

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pro-100
The "conical plastic tubes" are called "tapered needles" by Octoinkjet, so you find them under "Spares, Parts & Tools -> Syringes, needles, luer fittings" See page 2 of this for various conical plastic needles. There are also other fittings/adapters available, maybe one of these or maybe a luer slip syringe could be used to make your own "bro-luer" adapter?

Hi PeterBJ, I just joined yesterday and I'm still learning to navagate the site so I don't know if we can get on the same page this way, but..Anyhoo..I do have a question you might have experience with. I'm looking at the German method for refilling cli-42 and cli-721 carts with. Do you have any tips or thoughts on this method? Thanks, in advance.. Printfan11.

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MP990
See this for refilling the transparent CLI-42 cartridges using the German method and this for refilling the windowed CLI-721 cartridges. The CLI-721 cartridges are identical to the CLI-521 cartridges except for the chip and label. They are intended for use in Europe instead of Asia.

There is one problem with the CLI-42 cartridges, the yellow CLI-42 Y should not be refilled as remnants of the original ink can react with refill ink or even water used to flush the cartridge and form a gel that will block the print head. See this post. Instead a CLI-42 cartridge or CLI-8 cartridge of another colour could be used after flushing and drying. The use of a CLI-8 Y cartridge is recommended, as perfect cleaning is less important. The cleaned cartridge should have the chip from the empty CLI-42 attached. See this for chip transfer. The CLI-8 cartridges are identical to the CLI-42 cartridges except for the ink, chip and label.