Easy Printer Profiling?

Blueiced

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I recently filled my Canon printer with new 3rd party ink.
I really like the results overall. I have printed a couple of test photos with the original Canon Cli-521 ink and now I printed one of the photos with the new ink. The photo is great but compared to the original ink is a little bluish instead of purple in the sky area.

My question is - can I somehow tell the printer to use 1 point more magenta or something. I suppose that has to do something with color profiles but I'm new to printing. I just want to tell the printer to use a little more magenta. Is there an easy way to do it?

pharmacist

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson SC-P800,WF-7840,XP-15000
Hi Blueiced,

what type of refill ink are you using ? Keep in mind It will take a time to flush away/wash out all the original ink before you will get a stable colour shift. Then you can tweak the colour bars in the printer setup window to increase the amount of magenta.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
Blueiced said:
...snip... can I somehow tell the printer to use 1 point more magenta or something. I suppose that has to do something with color profiles but I'm new to printing. I just want to tell the printer to use a little more magenta. Is there an easy way to do it?
You can obviously make simple color adjustments within your printer's driver, but if you are fussy about getting the color right across the entire range of colors, you will probably want to purchase a custom printer profile for your ink/paper/printer combination. This link discusses how to use such profiles in Canon printers.

Here is one of many businesses that sell custom profiles, as do a few members of this forum.

Blueiced

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score