Creality Ender 3 V2 JyersUI Upgrade & CPU Issues 256K vs. 512k

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,930
Reaction score
1,281
Points
317
Location
Bay Area CA
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
As I had mentioned in my other thread, I've been excitedly wanting to update my control motherboard firmware from Creality's Malin to JyersUI.

I read it's important to know if you have the 4.2.2 or 4.2.7 motherboard.

Yesterday I was searching for info about these boards and stumbled on these pages:
https://www.th3dstudio.com/2022/01/...s-512k-swapped-out-for-256k-warning-firmware/
www.reddit.com/r/ender3v2/comments/scgy7g/my_ender_3_v2_with_431_board_confirmed_with_rct/

Basically: Creality swapped out the CPU for a smaller memory chip, and if you try to put firmware on it that's too big, it can cause issues.

I checked my new printer and found this:
creality-ender-3-v2-board-ret6.jpg


V4.2.2 board with the "RET6" chip 515. RET6 chip (which is 512k flash memory) vs. RCT6 chip with only 256k flash memory.

So, I dodged a weird bullet and I should be safe to install Jyers onto my Ender 3 V2!

(Gonna make sure I have all the backup creality firmware just in case)
 
Last edited:

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
14,706
Reaction score
7,980
Points
433
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,930
Reaction score
1,281
Points
317
Location
Bay Area CA
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
I'm going to make this also my journal for JyersUI update.

First the videos that helped:

Software:
Creality (backup): https://www.creality.com/download
Jyers: https://github.com/jyers/marlin/releases/

After checking my board and CPU are compatible, I downloaded the files and went through the steps to update the motherboard firmware... SUPER easy process.

BUT I got stuck updating the screen! I use my regular sized SD card with adapter to update the firmware, but had to use a micro SD card for the screen. I tried about 23 times for over an hour and couldn't figure it out. Reformatted the card, changed it to 4k allocation, etc. etc. etc.

Well, turns out the card was formatted as "BPT" and needed to be "MBR". So I converted it using "Minitool Partition Wizard" and formatted it FAT32 with 4k allocation.

... and it worked PERFECTLY!!!


Screen / options on Ender 3 V2 stock:
1643319708410.png


After firmware upgrade:
1643319731437.png


After display software upgrade:
1643319800322.png


So, not only are there a TON of new features, but the info displayed (amount, detail, colors) is WAY WAY better!!!

Yay!!!
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
14,706
Reaction score
7,980
Points
433
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
So, not only are there a TON of new features, but the info displayed (amount, detail, colors) is WAY WAY better!!!
Now that upgrade was worth it, even if you did have a bit of an issue with your SD card..
it's great when the plan comes together..:)
 

Redbrickman

Printer Master
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
964
Reaction score
971
Points
253
Location
UK
Printer Model
MB5150
Next will be Klipper and Mainsail/Fluidd as long as the new crippled chip supports it ;)
 
Top