Canon Pixma Pro 1 error 6700

Wojciech

Newbie to Printing
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro 1
Hello,
I have Canon Pixma Pro 1 with 6700 error (with means RTC battery error), I've already changed RTC battery, but nothing changed.
Printer works only in Service Mode.
I found piece of service manual and Canon want to set date and time in Service mode.
Does anyone know how to set date and time in Service mode? Maybe someone have a complete service manual?
I would be very grateful.

Thank a lot.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,551
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
Changing the battery in a Pro 1 without having the printer plugged into a power socket will result in exactly the same error, but if you can get into Service Mode you might have a slim chance of solving this issue, it’s doubtful, because no one has ever tried too before...

PM me...
 

Wojciech

Newbie to Printing
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro 1
With a The Hat's help I've solved first problem. Error 6700 is RTC battery problem (you have to dissasembly left side and change CR2032 coin battery) then using Service Tool (3400 version work fine) have to click Set Time option.
This solved first problem in my printer. Second one is B501 error during ink replacement.

Anyone had a similiar problem in this machine? I hope to solve this one tommorow and post everything on message board.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,551
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
@Wojciech, it possible you’re not using OEM cartridges, because that’s about the only way that I know you can get an error after changing cartridges...
 

Wojciech

Newbie to Printing
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro 1
I'm using Orginal inks.
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
7,952
Reaction score
6,220
Points
393
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,551
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
OK, it sounds like the Ink Absorbers might be full, did you run an EPROM information test sheet at all during you visit to service more and how many actions did you preform before exiting, the test sheet will give you a good indication of the health of the printer.

How many times does your LED light flash ? and did this error just come out of the blue or were you changing cartridges at that time ?, an error can just happen, but ones with letter and numbers (B501) are usually cause by owner input action.

If it was a cartridge, can you remove the offending cartridge and check the little white plastic stick and make sure its centred, then re-install cartridges again...
 

Wojciech

Newbie to Printing
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro 1
So,
I've removed all cartridges and B501 still occurs. (without ink's)
Printer works fine until you press relese button. Printer prepare inks, but after 20-25 sec. B501 shows on a computer and lights start to flash.

I have a very low ink level in 5 cartridges.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,551
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
How many times does the LED light flash, that is important to know, also if your inks are low the printer may not be able to re-pressurise your ink system or carry out any maintenance, what % is your waste ink at...
 

NoMSG

Print Lurker
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Printer Model
Canon Pro-1
Hi, this seems to be my last hope before dumping a bunch of money for a small problem. I'm also getting the error 6700 on my Pro-1 after not using it for a couple of months. I'm assuming the RTC battery dead from no power connection. I have the service tool V3400, I have a new battery, I've located the RTC battery location, I know how to put the printer into service mode, how do I put it all together? Service tool keeps giving me an error 006 when I try to use it to reset the time.
 
Top