Canon MP640 not printing, even using in-printer maintenance functions

britechguy

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post to the Inkjet Printer Forum, but I've been a tech geek for years and every printer but one that I've owned has been a Canon Inkjet of one sort or another.

A bit of background on this specific printer. It had belonged to a friend and worked perfectly until it threw the dreaded B200 error code. This almost always indicates a bad print head, so I decided that I would purchase a new Canon OEM QY6-0072-00 print head.

The print head is now installed and the printer recognizes it. The B200 code has been banished. It went through the automatic print head cleaning for a newly installed print head without issue. However, it now prints nothing, absolutely nothing when using the maintenance menu on the printer itself. I can't get a nozzle check pattern, print head alignment pattern, etc.

I removed the print head to be certain that it was drawing all inks through to the nozzles, and if you gently touch the print head nozzles to a tissue or napkin all show color bleeding into the paper, so it doesn't appear to be an issue with the print head drawing ink. It's almost as though the paper is not being positioned close enough to the print head to effect a transfer. I have tried plain paper for nozzle checks and the specified matte photo paper for the automatic print head alignment. Both come out the front as white as they went in, whether being pulled from the cassette or the rear tray. I've also done a cleaning of the feed roller on the rear tray and the bottom plate cleaning from the maintenance menu.