Bed Adhesion - tricks and tips?

Redbrickman

Printer Master
Reaction score
Printer Model
MB5150
I thought I would start a thread on bed adhesion as it is very often the bugbear of all new 3D printer users.

As a newbie I have found it to be the hardest thing to get dialled in. I'm sure I have aborted 4 out of 5 printing attepts after seeing the first layer come adrift. Ask six 3D printer guys for advice on bed adhesion and you'll get 12 answers! It seems that everyone develops their own personal favourite approach to keeping that print on the table until finished.

Having just had the printer a few days I have struggled with bed adhesion so open to any suggestions. I have had the most success with using masking tape but I find it a pain to apply and remove and get each strip lined up. On the bare glass bed I have tried glue stick which works sometimes but timing is critical as is using hairspray as they can dry out before the print starts.

One popular alternative on the CR-10 and similar sized beds is the Ikea "Lots" mirror. Some are using them without any glue or hairpsray and getting good results, so this will be my next experiment.

I'm using Cura as the slicer software so I have seen that some people set the nozzle temperature of the first layer higher by 4-5 degrees to help adhesion.

The values I'm going to try for PLA are:

Bed Temp 50
Nozzle 206 for 1st layer and 200 thereafter.
First layer print speed 25mm/sec.

Will report back on my findings later.

Last edited:

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Reaction score
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
It does seem that bed adhesion (and a solid/good first layer) is often the most critical and frequently difficult part of successful 3D printing!

You're spot-on that it seems there are millions of opinions on what works best, and many people swear that their way is the best

... that being the case, here's my best way! ;)