Adhesive Ink?

aaa8

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello everybody. I am new to the board and have a question about the possibility of creating an adhesive ink.

I'm an artist and it would be super-helpful to be able to print stuff where the text that is printed is mildly tacky. What I would be doing is printing with the tacky ink and then sift certain enamels or powders onto the paper where the ink is tacky.

The types of glue I was condsidering are very diluted basic Elmers white glue or blue gel glue. Is it possible to fill an ink cartridge with such as solution? Or add glue to an existing ink cartridge with the idea that the ink would dilute the glue itself? Would I just be asking for a gummy mess?

Any advice you can give would be appreciated. Thanks!

jtoolman

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
All of them! LOL
The print heads could not handle the ink. Not too mention that they would likely clog constantly. Rather than adhesive properties, maybe just very slow drying properties? The enamel powders would still stick, wouldn't they?

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
aaa8 said:
Hello everybody. I am new to the board and have a question about the possibility of creating an adhesive ink.

I'm an artist and it would be super-helpful to be able to print stuff where the text that is printed is mildly tacky. What I would be doing is printing with the tacky ink and then sift certain enamels or powders onto the paper where the ink is tacky.

The types of glue I was condsidering are very diluted basic Elmers white glue or blue gel glue. Is it possible to fill an ink cartridge with such as solution? Or add glue to an existing ink cartridge with the idea that the ink would dilute the glue itself? Would I just be asking for a gummy mess?

Any advice you can give would be appreciated. Thanks!