True Bottom-Fill Possibility for Canon Carts?

SilverWings

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Howdy everyone. I should declare up front I'm new to this forum and at present I'm new to the refilling idea, though I did have a CISS for an Epson for some time (with mixed results). Well the Epson died some months ago and I finally got around to doing some photo-printer shopping and found this forum. I just purchased a Pixma MG6120 so it will probably be some time before my original carts NEED a refill. But I've been reading up on many of the postings here and while there's a lot of opinions, it seems the two valid refill methods are "top fill" and "german". Messing around with the sponge side, like vacuum refilling or outlet saturation, doesn't seem to be a good idea. (Both top fill and german methods inject directly into the open reservoir) Canon seems to have gone to some lengths to regulate the pressure balance in the cartridge and any alterations to the pressure balance are best avoided. With that in mind, I see some minor flaws in both top fill and german methods:
TOP FILL
Obviously top fill depends heavily on the user reestablishing a seal on the fill hole. If the seal is not true, air will leak through and the entire cartridge will leak all over the place. The other issue I see is that during filling, ink simultaneously filling both the reservoir and the sponge, which could over-saturate the sponge. (more on that in a minute)
GERMAN