Printer Recommendation?

MimitheGreat

Print Lurker
Reaction score
Printer Model
HP Deskjet 2510 (broken)
Can someone please recommend a printer for me to buy? I am not looking for anything fancy. I am a student, and I just need something affordable and reliable that can print black and white text documents. Thanks!

Sherden

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon IP4300 - Epson XP-810
printing volume?

If low, ahem ..... I shouldn't say it here.....shhhh.... but you should go for a laser printer.. :D

At least you will avoid all issues related to clogged heads when you leave the printer unused for a long time. And can always refill the toner cartdrige to save money

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
Yes I agree, go for the Laser printer, it will see you thought college and beyond.. :old

Łukasz

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
MG6250 (MG5150 before)
Current printers overview

For example HP LJ P1102 printer is inexpensive ~100$ and accept refilled or remanufactured toners very well.
Canon also has very similar laser printer based on the same print engine, but I'm not sure is it refilled/remanufactured toner friendly.

There are other brands - Samsung/Xerox/Epson "friendship" - but these printers are horribly protected from using third party toners. In Samsung it is possibility to install modified firmware called "endless chip" but it costs (from ~6$ in my country).

There are also Brother, but cheapest HL-1110/1112 literally sucks compared to its peers. It is poor-featured and has complex print engine - OPC drum is outside toner cartridge. Also grayscale areas are printed with unacceptable banding.

Some pricing on OEM toners (in Poland):
- very similar: ~75$ for 1000-1500 ISO pages toner cartridge

Some pricing on remanufactured/refilled ready to use toners (in Poland):
  • HP LJ 1102
  1. 10-30$ for 1500 ISO pages toner with new OPC drum