1. Official Poll: Why Do You Refill?
    Click HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

Print Head Alignment

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by The Hat, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Jul 27, 2011
    panos

    panos Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    129
    Location:
    Greece
    I think Stratman makes an excellent point and the fact that Canon supplied only two special sheets of auto-calibration paper on my MX850 is proof that calibration is not meant to be a regular maintenance operation. Possibly there are high precision mechanisms that calibrate the print head's azimuth and not meant to be regularly used.

    I do wonder however if the mere printing of the manual calibration test sheet activates those mechanisms. If it doesn't then it would be a good measure to store a printed sheet away and use it for future comparisons in cases where calibration is suspected for bad printouts.
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    rodbam

    rodbam Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Australia
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro 9000 mk2 & Pro 9500
    What is an auto calibration sheet? My ip5000 & I think my pro9000 just does a calibration on its own with some lights shining down on a blank paper it prints on.
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    panos

    panos Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    129
    Location:
    Greece
    Multifunctionals such as my MX850 and MP750 print two sheets of paper which are meant to be placed to the scanner for the calibration process.

    Your printers (and most expensive Canon models) have a sensor to do this without a scanner.

    Cheaper models (such as my IP3300) offer the manual calibration option only.

    The idea is to issue a manual calibration, cancel it after the sheet is printed out without passing the parameters to the printer and then compare it again with a new calibration printout after some months.

    But the question is whether the printing of the calibration sheet actually activates the print head's calibration mechanisms.
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    gigigogu

    gigigogu Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    49
    My presumption is that calibration is a software thing and not mechanical, instructing when to fire each nozzle.

    I am wondering if newer models, with carriage moving on a L-shaped profile, require more frequent calibration compared with older models with carriage on a rod.

    My cheap Pixma 1900, even with CISS, requires monthly calibration, compared with one calibration per year for Pixma 4500 and 5000.
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    323
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    The Garden County Ireland
    Printer Model:
    CANON Rule in My House
    There is no need to keep a printed record of your print alignments the printer does it automatically.
    Before you click on the manual Alignment Tab there is another Tab called Print Alignment Value
    that where youll find the record of your pervious alignment, so youd start with that.
    Mine it the total opposite to yours, My CISS printers hardly ever need to have the re-alignment run at all.
  6. Jul 27, 2011
    Redbrickman

    Redbrickman Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    UK
    Had another thought about this, dangerous I know :)

    Is head alignment more of an issue on the cheaper Canons that no longer have the solid steel bar for the carriage to run on?

    If so, then maybe it is a flexing thing with that cheap and nasty rail that's on the Mp640 and others ;)

    Will be interesting to compare on my 640 and Pro 9000 MKII

Share This Page