Calibration - please help

strobemonkey

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I am a photography hobbyist and I like to print my own pictures. I currently use Epson P50 and a Canon MP560 but I want to concentrate using my epson printer. I use Photoshop's color management, and I have no trouble with my prints when I use Epson OEM inks with Epson Premium Glossy paper with my calibrated monitor.

My problem arises when I use IS inks (from Martin aka websnail - thank God we have a UK supplier of this ink). I don't seem to get accurate/acceptable prints. Specially when I partner it with Kirkland (blue sailor) paper (yes I have a local costco here).

My question is, If I buy a monitor/printer calibration device like colormunki, will I see an improvement with my prints? Will the prints really match or at least nearly match what I see on my monitor? I know there is a question of print longevity using third party inks and paper but that's a gamble I am willing to take. My priority now is color accuracy with my prints.

Here are some scanned sample prints, the top pics are the ones printed with Epson OEM inks, the bottom pics are with IS inks:

4918085742_0ddbdbf6ae_z.jpg

4917486487_18df163f40_z.jpg

4918084438_fcb560eccd_z.jpg

4917485233_3f2f8585a9_z.jpg

4918085184_7c05271c56_z.jpg

4917485847_e2d970a552_z.jpg

Before anyone asks, the ink tanks I used with the IS inks are virgin tanks so there's no mixture with other inks or flushing fluid. The pics with OEM inks were printed first, then the ones with IS inks next, but after I did about 6 cleaning cycles with the IS inks which nearly emptied the cartridges. These pics are roughly 3 days old so they are very dry. I used epson premium glossy paper, and the dvd's I used are waterproof.

qwertydude

Printing Ninja
Reaction score